HOUSTON -- Astros manager Bo Porter successfully challenged a call at first base in the first inning of Sunday's game against the Rangers, which gave Chris Carter an RBI.
With runners at first and third and no outs, Carter hit into what was at first called a 5-4-3 double play, scoring a run. Porter challenged that Carter beat the relay throw to first, and replays showed clearly that he was indeed safe.
The call on the field was overturned and the play was instead scored as a fielder's choice, with Carter getting an RBI.
An inning later, the crew chief reviewed an inning-ending play at the plate to try to determine if Rangers catcher Robinson Chirinos violated Rule 7.13 by not giving a sliding Matt Dominguez a path to the plate. Dominguez was called out after trying to score from first on a Marwin Gonzalez double, and the play stood after a lengthy review.
Porter still had the ability to challenge another play during the game. No manager may challenge more than two plays in a game. Once the manager has exhausted his ability to challenge plays during the game and after the beginning of the seventh inning, the crew chief may choose to invoke instant replay on any reviewable call.
Brian McTaggart is a reporter for MLB.com and writes an MLBlog, Tag's Lines. Follow @brianmctaggart on Twitter. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.