Bourn highlights Astros' awards season

Bourn highlights Astros' awards season

Bourn highlights Astros' awards season
HOUSTON -- Astros center fielder Michael Bourn has followed up a terrific season on the field with a banner season off the field, winning two major awards in his second season roaming the spacious outfield at Minute Maid Park.

Bourn last week became only the second Astros outfielder to win a Rawlings Gold Glove for his stellar defensive play, and earlier in the offseason he was named the team's Most Valuable Player by the Houston Chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

"It's a good honor," Bourn said of his Gold Glove. "I was excited when I heard the news. I was looking around at the people that were also named as Gold Glove [winners] and it was a really good list of players to be around. I'm amazed by it and excited at the same time."

Bourn, 26, is the first Astros player to win a Gold Glove since catcher Brad Ausmus, who took home the previous three Houston awards in 2001, '02 and '06. He's the second Astros outfielder to win the award, joining five-time winner Cesar Cedeno (1972-76).

"It comes as no surprise," Astros general manager Ed Wade said. "It's a tremendous honor for Michael and well-deserved. He makes center field seem awfully small when he's out there, and I don't think you really appreciate what he does defensively until you see somebody else out there and realize how big our ballpark and other ballparks are.

"He covers a tremendous amount of ground, is a great athlete and has great instincts and never takes anything for granted. We're fortunate to have him, and I'm happy that his peers have recognized him for what I assume will be many Gold Gloves."

Bourn had a breakout season at the plate, too, hitting .285 with a .354 on-base percentage and leading the NL with 61 stolen bases, which was four shy of the club record. Bourn, who hit .353 with runners in scoring position, is the first Astros center fielder to win a team MVP since Lance Berkman in 2002.

Jeff Bagwell (1994) is the only Houston player to win the NL Most Valuable Player, but Berkman has finished in the top-seven on five different occasions -- fifth in 2001, third in '02, seventh in '04, third in '06 and fifth in '08, the last year an Astros player has finished in the voting.

In addition to Bourn, the BBWAA voted left-hander Wandy Rodriguez as the team's Pitcher of the Year and reliever Jeff Fulchino as Rookie of the Year. Veteran right-hander Brian Moehler won the Darryl Kile Good Guy Award, which is given to a player who exhibits good character.

Rodriguez set career highs in wins (14), innings pitched (205 2/3) and strikeouts (193) while posting a career-best 3.02 ERA. He was eighth in the NL in ERA, tied for 12th in wins and tied for eighth in strikeouts. Among left-handers, he was tied for first in strikeouts and had the third-best ERA.

The Astros haven't had a player finish in the NL Cy Young voting since Roy Oswalt was fourth in 2006, and they haven't had a winner since Roger Clemens in '04. Mike Scott (1986) is the only other Astros player to win the award.

Fulchino, 29, went 6-4 with a 3.40 ERA in 61 relief appearances and led all Houston relievers in wins, innings pitched and strikeouts. He was tied for second in the NL in relief wins and ranked third in innings pitched in his first full year of Major League service time.

Fulchino didn't receive any votes for NL Rookie of the Year. Bagwell (1991) is the only Astros' player to win the NL Rookie of the Year Award, and Hunter Pence (third in 2007) is the last Houston player to get Rookie of the Year votes.

National Awards
MVP Cy Young ROY
Jeff Bagwell 1994 Mike Scott 1986 Jeff Bagwell 1991
Roger Clemens 2004
Manager of Year Rawlings Gold Glove Silver Slugger
Bill Virdon 1980 Doug Rader 1970 Jose Cruz 1983
Hal Lanier 1986 Doug Rader 1971 Dickie Thon 1983
Larry Dierker 1998 Doug Rader 1972 Jose Cruz 1984
Doug Rader 1973 Glenn Davis 1986
Roger Metzger 1973 Craig Biggio 1989
Cesar Cedeno 1973 Jeff Bagwell 1994
Doug Rader 1974 Craig Biggio 1994
Cesar Cedeno 1974 Craig Biggio 1995
Cesar Cedeno 1975 Jeff Bagwell 1997
Cesar Cedeno 1976 Craig Biggio 1997
Jeff Bagwell 1994 Moises Alou 1998
Craig Biggio 1994 Craig Biggio 1998
Craig Biggio 1995 Mike Hampton 1999
Craig Biggio 1996 Jeff Bagwell 1999
Craig Biggio 1997 Morgan Ensberg 2005
Brad Ausmus 2001 Carlos Lee 2007
Brad Ausmus 2002
Brad Ausmus 2006
Michael Bourn 2009
Michael Bourn 2010
Roberto Clemente Award This Year in Baseball Award
Craig Biggio 2007 Craig Biggio 2007
Local Awards
Most Valuable Player Pitcher of the Year Rookie of the Year
Bob Lillis1962Darryl Kile1997John Hudek1994
Hal Woodeshick1963Shane Reynolds1998Brian Hunter1995
Bob Aspromonte1964Mike Hampton1999Billy Wagner1996
Jimmy Wynn1965Scott Elarton2000Chris Holt1997
Rusty Staub1966Wade Miller2001Scott Elarton1998
Rusty Staub1967Chuck McElroy2002Daryle Ward1999
Denis Menke1968Billy Wagner2003Mitch Meluskey2000
Larry Dierker1969Roger Clemens2004Roy Oswalt2001
Joe Morgan1970Andy Pettitte2005Ricky Stone2002
Don Wilson1971Roy Oswalt2006Brad Lidge2003
Cesar Cedeno1972Roy Oswalt2007Chad Qualls2004
Roger Metzger1973Jose Valverde2008Willy Taveras2005
Greg Gross1974Wandy Rodriguez2009Luke Scott2006
Bob Watson1975Brett Myers2010Hunter Pence2007
J.R. Richard1976Wandy Rodriguez2011Wesley Wright2008
Jose Cruz1977Jeff Fulchino2009
Enos Cabell1978Chris Johnson2010
Joe Niekro1979J.D. Martinez2011
Jose Cruz1980
Nolan Ryan1981
Ray Knight1982
Jose Cruz1983
Jose Cruz1984
Bill Doran1985
Mike Scott1986
Bill Doran1987
Glenn Davis1988
Mike Scott1989
Danny Darwin1990
Jeff Bagwell1991
Doug Jones1992
Jeff Bagwell1993
Jeff Bagwell1994
Craig Biggio1995
Jeff Bagwell1996
Craig Biggio1997
Craig Biggio1998
Jeff Bagwell1999
Jeff Bagwell2000
Lance Berkman2001
Lance Berkman2002
Richard Hidalgo2003
Lance Berkman2004
Morgan Ensberg2005
Lance Berkman2006
Carlos Lee2007
Lance Berkman2008
Michael Bourn2009
Hunter Pence2010
Hunter Pence2011
Houston Area Major League
Player of the Year
Fred Hartman Award
for Long and Meritorious Service
Darryl Kile Award
Roger Clemens, BOS 1987 Donald Davidson 1985 Jeff Bagwell 2002
Greg Swindell, CLE 1988 Fred Hartman 1986 Roy Oswalt 2003
Nolan Ryan, TEX 1989 Gene Elston 1987 Morgan Ensberg 2004
Doug Drabek, PIT 1990 Jim "Doc" Ewell 1988 Brad Lidge 2005
Rogger Clemens, BOS; Greg Swindell, CLE 1991 Vivian Smith 1989 Lance Berkman 2006
Roger Clemens, BOS 1992 Allen Russell 1990 Woody Williams 2007
Jay Buehner, SEA 1993 Clark Nealon 1991 Hunter Pence 2008
Andy Pettitte, NYY 1994 Bob Green 1992 Brian Moehler 2009
Jay Buehner, SEA 1995 Tal Smith 1993 Geoff Blum 2010
Andy Pettitte, NYY 1996 Billy Joe Bowman 1994 Jason Bourgeois 2011
Roger Clemens, BOS 1997 Larry Dierker 1995
Roger Clemens, BOS 1998 Bob Watson 1996
Mike Jackson, CLE 1999 Bill Virdon 1997
Andy Pettitte, NYY 2000 Dennis Liborio 1998
Roger Clemens, BOS 2001 Mickey Herskowitz 1999
Kip Wells, PIT 2002 Milo Hamilton 2000
Andy Pettitte, NYY 2003 Wayne Graham 2001
Carl Crawford, TB 2004 Harry Shattuck 2002
Adam Dunn, CIN 2005 Charlie Maiorana 2003
Carl Crawford, TB 2006 Gerry Hunsicker 2004
Josh Beckett, BOS 2007 Gene Coleman 2005
James Loney, LAD 2008 Dan Cunningham 2006
Adam Dunn, WAS 2009 Jackie Moore 2007
Carl Crawford, TB 2010 Neil Hohlfeld 2008
Lance Berkman, STL 2011 Ivy McLemore 2009
Barry Waters 2010
Bill Brown 2011

Brian McTaggart is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.