Astros to host Cubs for two exhibition games in 2013 at Minute Maid Park

Astros to host Cubs for two exhibition games in 2013 at Minute Maid Park

HOUSTON, TX - The Houston Astros will host their former division rivals, the Chicago Cubs, in two exhibition games, March 29-30, at Minute Maid Park in 2013.

The Astros are moving to the American League in 2013, making this the Cubs’ only scheduled visit to Houston for the upcoming season. Start times for the exhibition games will be 7:05 p.m. on Friday, March 29 and 1:05 p.m. for the Saturday, March 30 game.  

SPRING TRAINING UPDATES

The Spring Training report date for Astros pitchers and catchers is Monday, February 11, with the first workout scheduled for the following day (2/12). The report date for position players is Friday, February 15, with the first full-squad workout scheduled for the following day (2/16) as well.

The Astros will once again hold Spring Training at the Osceola County Stadium complex in Kissimmee, FL, where they have trained since 1985. The Astros first Spring Training game will be on the road on February 23 vs. the Philadelphia Phillies. Houston’s Spring home opener is scheduled for Sunday, February 24 vs. the New York Mets at 12:05 p.m. CST.

Spring Training season tickets start at $240 for all 16 games and can be purchased now by calling 321-697-3201. Individual tickets, which start at $15, will go on sale in mid-January.  A full Spring Training schedule that includes most start times is below.

 

2013 Houston Astros Spring Training Schedule
(As of Dec. 11, 2012; All Times CST)
Day Date Opponent Site Time
Saturday February 23 Philadelphia Clearwater 12:05
Sunday February 24 New York Mets KISSIMMEE 12:05
Monday February 25 St. Louis Jupiter 12:05
Tuesday February 26 (ss) Detroit KISSIMMEE 12:05
Tampa Bay Port Charlotte 12:05
Wednesday February 27 Toronto Dunedin 12:05
Thursday February 28 New York Yankees (ss) KISSIMMEE 12:05
Friday March 1 St. Louis KISSIMMEE 12:05
Saturday March 2 Atlanta KISSIMMEE 12:05
Sunday March 3 Pittsburgh Bradenton 12:05
Monday March 4 Detroit Lakeland 12:05
Tuesday March 5 Washington Viera 12:05
Wednesday March 6 No Game Scheduled
Thursday March 7 Washington KISSIMMEE 12:05
Friday March 8 Atlanta (ss) KISSIMMEE 12:05
Saturday March 9 New York Mets Port St. Lucie 12:10
Sunday March 10 Philadelphia KISSIMMEE 12:05
Monday March 11 No Game Scheduled
Tuesday March 12 Miami Jupiter 12:05
Wednesday March 13 Washington (ss) KISSIMMEE 12:05
Thursday March 14 Washington Viera 12:05
Friday March 15 Pittsburgh KISSIMMEE 12:05
Saturday March 16 Washington Viera 5:05
Sunday March 17 Toronto KISSIMMEE 12:05
Monday March 18 No Game Scheduled
Tuesday March 19 Toronto Dunedin 12:05
Wednesday March 20 New York Mets KISSIMMEE 5:05
Thursday March 21 Detroit Lakeland 5:05
Friday March 22 St. Louis KISSIMMEE 12:05
Saturday March 23 Atlanta (ss) Orlando 12:05
Sunday March 24 Miami KISSIMMEE 12:05
Monday March 25 Washington KISSIMMEE 5:05
Tuesday March 26 New York Yankees Tampa 6:05
Wednesday March 27 New York Mets Port St. Lucie 5:10
Thursday March 28 (ss) Atlanta Orlando 12:05
Detroit KISSIMMEE 12:05
Friday March 29 Chicago Cubs Minute Maid Park 7:05*
Saturday March 30 Chicago Cubs Minute Maid Park 1:05*
*Exhibition Games At Minute Maid Park