Pence, Myers win BBWAA awards

Pence, Myers win BBWAA awards

HOUSTON -- Astros right fielder Hunter Pence was named the team's Most Valuable Player and right-hander Brett Myers was voted the Pitcher of the Year as voted upon by the Houston chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Pence, a first-time winner of the award, led the team with 25 homers and 91 RBIs. He tied his career high in homers set the previous two seasons and set a career high in RBIs. He was also among league leaders in outfield assists.

Myers (14-8) led the team and tied a career high in wins, while setting career highs in innings pitched (223 2/3) and ERA (3.14). He pitched at least six innings in his first 32 starts before lasting 5 2/3 innings in his final start of the year last week.

Third baseman Chris Johnson, who led the team in batting average, was named the Astros' Rookie of the Year. Veteran infielder Geoff Blum will receive the Darryl Kile Good Guy Award, which is given to a player who exhibits good character.

Long-time Astros traveling secretary Barry Waters was voted as the winner of the Long and Meritorious Service Award, and Tampa Bay Rays outfielder Carl Crawford was named the Houston Area Player of the Year for the third time. Davis, who was born and raised in Houston, also won in 2004 and 2006.